Rural Ambassador

The Rural Ambassador Competition is a National Competition aimed at young rural adults who have a passion for living and working in rural communities.

The competition aims to discover the next generation of rural leaders who have the desire to represent and promote their community, their region and their state.

Successful entrants are given the opportunity to meet and network with like minded representatives from around the state, around the country and around the Commonwealth. You will meet state and federal decision makers and leaders in agriculture and education, be able to input your point of view, ask the hard questions and make important contacts.

You do not have to be a ‘university graduate’, you just need to have the desire to stand up for rural Australia, have a basic agricultural and rural knowledge, and be prepared to ‘have a go’. You will experience some tough competition, make lifelong friends and have a damn good time.

So if this sounds like you:

2017 Rural Ambassador for the Chapman Valley Agricultural Society Inc.

Nigel Routledge

Having been back in the Mid West for nearly three years, Nigel has quickly jumped into a variety of roles in the Chapman Valley region. Working in the agricultural industry with Independent Rural, and having hailed from the family farm in Oakabella (between Northampton and Howatharra), his knowledge of the area is strong.

Nigel is heavily involved in sport in the region and is captain of the Chapman Valley-Northampton Cricket Club. Having lived in a variety of rural communities across the country, he sees the role that sport and social activities has to play in rural communities and the importance both mentally and physically; it has to its members in acting as an outlet from their day-to-day rigors of farming. He plans to find new ways to reconnect community members and enhance these social events.


Congratulations Nigel on representing the Chapman Valley Agricultural Society Inc.  at the Midwest Final Rural Ambassador Award dinner, Saturday 22nd July 2017. 

Thankyou greatly for the support and opportunity you have given me. Look forward to seeing you all on show day on Saturday 2nd Sept 2017! Nigel Routledge


2016 Midwest & WA State Winner, Brad Kupsch is now off

to the Nationals in Melbourne to represent WA in September 2017.

Brad Kupsch 2016 Midwest Rural Ambassador Winner

Good luck Brad

General Outline of the Competition

The Rural Ambassador Award is conducted in three stages:

Local Show Level:
The winner selected at the local level represents that Agricultural Society at the Group Finals.

Group Level:
The winner selected at the Group Final represents that Group in the State Final.

State Level:
The winner of the State Final will represent Western Australia in the Nationals.

If you would like the opportunity to promote Chapman Valley Agricultural Society Inc. as a Rural Ambassador for 2018 and will be between 20 to 30 years of age as at the 1st May 2018, please contact the CVAS Secretary for entry details – PO Box 394, Geraldton 6531 or 

Chapman Valley Agricultural Society Inc. Rural Ambassadors

2017  Nigel Routledge
2016  Brad Kupsch (WA State Winner & Mid West Winner).
2015  Jessica Warr (WA State Winner & Mid West Winner).
2014  Jeremy Brooks (Mid West Winner & Runner up State Finalist)
2005  Kim Batten
2003  Jason Stokes (Mid West Winner)
2002  Jason Batten
2001   Teehani Cooper (Reynolds)
2000   Simon Creagh

Chapman Valley Show Girls

1999        Jasmine Flavel
1998        Tenille Webb
1997         Demelza Forrester
1996         Kristy Thompson
1995         Gemma Green
1994         Kim Williamson
1993         Melanie Griffith
1992         Judith Flanigan (Mid West Winner)
1991          Belinda Sullivan
1990         Leisa Woodhams
1989         Sally Scott
1988         Rochelle Davies
1987         Kathy Murphy
1986         Trisha Slee
1985         Deanne Norris
1984         Jennifer McNamara
1983         Helen McCartney
1982         Lee-Anne McCartney
1981         Alison Walls